Google+

The Donkey comes to stay

1

September 11, 2012 by workitmamma

My name is Victoria and I’m a Bugaboo addict. There, said it. I bloody love my Cameleon and must admit when my sister-in-law,who writes Rocknroller Baby paraded her sparkly, deliciously designed Donkey around it stirred a kind of broodiness not even a freshly washed new-born could induce.

A little drastic you may think and yes I agree but come on, give any of their pushchairs ago and I dare you to look back. This week I managed to prize the Donkey out of her, very tight, grasp, and took him on a little holiday to Norfolk. Le Donk, dear folk normally resides in edgy East London where Rocknroller Baby takes him out and about to sample city life.

He’s had it easy – I wanted to see what he did in the country, along tiny country roads, among the dirt tracks of East Anglia. I would just like to point that I am fully aware that creating a persona for the Donkey is a little strange but, hell, he deserves it!

On a serious note I’ve always loved my Cameleon and you just can’t beat it for comfort and suspension. It’s so easy to put together and is robust without being bulky. Arthur’s dad also loves the fact you can do things with the wheels and it turns into a beach buggy! Never have I felt more smug than pulling my Bugaboo effortlessly across a sandy beach while others struggled to make it. Survival of the fittest.

Le Donk’s first outing was to the Castle in Norwich and he faired so well weaving in and out of narrow streets and across cobbles. He made it down Elm Hill (a tiny but beautiful street famed for it’s cobbles) and Arthur managed to stay asleep. He came to the Library with us and did some more sight-seeing, including our stunning Cathedral. We used the pushchair seat with the shopping basket on the side. With only a very quick demo from my brother I managed to put The Donkey together quickly and easily.

Le Donk takes in the culture outside Norwich Castle

Like my Cameleon, the steering was fab and so easy and despite the seat being slightly smaller Arthur was so comfortable he feel asleep within minutes. As everyone knows, storage on a buggy is so important and those clever Bugaboo babes have created a double buggy with plenty of room for shopping, It also has the same great suspension I’ve come to expect.

A little light reading before hitting the cobbles

Generally Le Donk is just fab. Not only does it look great but it handles so well and the clever design means you never feel like you’re pushing some great big double buggy – a real triumph of design meeting practicality.It’s the ultimate time-saving buggy. No faffing around putting it together, no worrying about bumpy terrain and plenty of room for shopping.

Le Donk didn’t even flinch in the face of narrow streets and cobbles

Now, just the simple task of giving him back – I can do it. But saying that, if I do have another baby…..

Top tips:

This week I threw of the middle class shackles of quaint gentrified seaside towns and found myself in Great Yarmouth. A great big, loud, extremely garish and totally fabulous seaside town. There are rides, arcades,colours that are usually saved for chemically induced hallucinations. Arthur loved it! He was totally entertained by the whole experience with rides on the snails and teacups and I have vowed to make a return visit very soon.

Sometimes it’s good to ring the changes and go somewhere or do something you wouldn’t normally do. I felt like a big kid again and it really made my week.

One thought on “The Donkey comes to stay

  1. […] Arthur some of his famous Donkey rides! Find out what Tori and Arthur thought about Donkey at the Workitmamma baby […]

Leave a Reply

