Google+

Make like Freddy and work that vacuum!

Leave a comment

October 11, 2012 by workitmamma

Autumn is the season of burlesque. When nature enchants with a gentley provocative striptease, glimpses of winter mingle with the last warmth of summer and we are turned, helplessly to a world of central heating, apple crumbles and wellies.

Ok, so that’s the official view, truth is I’m cold and have nothing decent to wear. Every year winter creeps up on me like a stealth shot of ice-cold vodka, and I’m left shivering in my summer dress – and my skin looks like I’ve been taking a cheese grater to it.

It’s at this time of year I always want to change the house, make it more snuggly and generally clear out summer. This is the first year Arthur is properly mobile and ‘helpful’ when it comes to housework. He’s been sweeping and polishing and scrubbing toilets and cleaning cupboards….he he! But the one thing I’ve not been able to get him to do is vacuum. Since being tiny he has always been pertrified of the hoover and when I say petrified I mean it in the (almost) literal sense of the word. When the motor starts he’s pinned to the spot, unable to move and shaking. So imagine my surprise when my new Vax Air 3 arrived and he did a little dance and then kissed it!

Now, unless you’re Freddy Mercury (shoutout to all you 80s babies), vacuuming is not sexy but any way you can make it easier, quicker and generally more effective has to be a good thing. Ususally getting the vacuum out is a military mission, hoofing a big ole heavy machine out of the cupboard and up and down stair is a right pain. But this new machine is just brilliant and I’m not easily impressed.

It’s so light I can carry it up and down stairs easily and it’s so much quieter than my last one. It has fab (not sure of the technical terms) manoeurability which gets right into the corners. Infact it felt so light and easy that I checked a couple of times that it was working because it really was effortless. It’s the perfect vacuum for those of us who put housework on the list but never really seem to get round to it – it’s also endored by 19-month-olds!  Oh the nifty little upholstery brush was really handy.

Top tips:

Now this is a big one which could save you hundreds of pounds!The lovely people at Vax are holding a SECRET SALE. Starting tomorrow there’ll be up to 80% off vacuums, carpet washers, steam cleaners, solutions and spare parts on vaxsale.co.uk and you can only gain entry with password STAFFSALE12. A great chance to stock up on stuff for hugely reduced prices – definitely worth a look.

Now this one was passed on to me and I haven’t tried it yet but it sounds good. When your children want to paint and your heart fills with fear as you stare at your beautiful carpet and carefully chosen cushions – try this cheap way of minimising spills. When you get coffees or small soft drinks in those takeaway cups with lids make sure you keep them. Give them a good rinse and fill with some paint. Make the hole in the top big enough for a brush and hey presto a cheap way to reduce spillage.  If you keep the cardboard trays as well they act as a bit of an anchor. Seems like a good idea and a money saving idea so let me know how you get on and I can thank her or banish her from my Christmas card list.

Leave a Reply

Categories

BritMums

BritMums

