Google+

Embracing chaos and the £2.50 wonder cream

Leave a comment

October 21, 2012 by workitmamma

I started a spreadsheet – not just any old spreadsheet  -a Christmas one. My chance to be that woman who said: “Yes that should be fine, we have a window 12-3 on Tuesday.” I would have times and events at my fingertips.  I’ve always dreamt of being that woman and not the one who’s only attempt at a diary lies helplessly at the bottom of a bag, pages stuck together with coffee and apple juice with faded enthusiasm that wained before we hit April. Along with this growing love affair with spreadsheets I began to develop an urge to buy a powersuit – fingers crossed they work with leggings.

Oh fickle world how you woo me with your grand ideas then drop me like a fat bird on a big night out. Spreadsheets and Arthur don’t mix simply because I’ve been trying to do them on my laptop, which, to Arthur, is like a red rag to a bull. One lapse in concentration, one sip of tea and I’ve lost a date, moved a column and generally turned December into a very, very strange looking month.

So I’ve given up and embraced my lazy girl attitude and found a new found joy in being always on the cusp of a new decision and never really knowing what we’re doing at the weekend unless someone else has planned it. I must admit I have a few dates in for Christmas and this are mainly things at our lovely Surestart centre. Do you know this week I did a cooking class, music session and fantastic outdoor explorer sessions – all free. Mr Cameron please protect these vital facilities for our children’s future. Treat it as part of the NHS – health and wellbeing is so much more than physical and through Surestart all children are on an equal footing.

In my quest to look 25 for the next 25 years I’ve been trying out some fab new products from those lovely people at Asda. They’ve created a new skincare range called SKINSYSTEM Q10 Complex.

At £2.50 a pop they are amazing value, which, in the lead up to Christmas is music to my ears. I tried the day cream and found it light, easy to use and most importantly for busy mums in the morning, it sinks in really quickly so you can carry on with the rest of the war paint before facing the world. I’ve also been using the eye cream which feels lovely and is just easy to use. I can’t quite believe the serum is also just £2.50 but feels like a bit of luxuary when I put it on at night. I genuinely found it as effective to use as some of the other far more expensive products I’ve used – perfect for busy mums looking for a bit of pampering with out the price tag.

Next week I’m off to the Baby Show at Earl’s Court – really looking forward to it as I get loads of ideas for presents and stuff for at home – plus there’s a creche so that’s always a bonus! It’s also great news that the British Red Cross is kicking off a new UK-wide campaign to get parents up to speed with first aid.The First Aid Challenge begins on 26th October at the Baby Show and comes after a survey found 96% parents think all parents whould have basic first aid but two thirds are too worried or lack confidence to actually do it.

This is great news for me as I’ve always wanted to know more and indeed do more if I have to. Why not sign-up, it’s open to everyone and you can get advice, videos and lots more.

Toptip:

I’ve been stock piling paint pots, glitter, paper, felt letters and loads of stuff from pound shops on my travels and I’m going to make Arthur a big art basket for one of his Christmas presents. I looked at art sets and they are so expensive! Arthur’s going to get a massive basket full of lovely goodies that I am not too bothered about losing, spilling breaking etc, for half the price.

Leave a Reply

Categories

BritMums

BritMums

