Google+

A sweet little wander down memory lane

1

January 28, 2013 by workitmamma

On Saturday we went to a fab 80s tea party at the Museum of Childhood, Bethnal Green. It was for the launch of Squashies a new brand of sweets from Swizzels Matlow which has taken classics like Refreshers, Drumsticks and other teeth sticking lovelies and given them a funky edge. We went with my sister-in-law who writes Rocknroller Baby, my niece Florence and nephew Jimmy. It really was a walk down memory lane and I don’t think I can remember a time past the age of 16 when I consumed so many sweets – lovely! Arthur had an amazing time and had his face painted as a tiger. The lady doing the painting was seriously good. He never sits still for anyone but he sat, mesmerised, and allowed her to create a masterpiece.

suger-coated tiger

suger-coated tiger

Squashies

Estimated number of sweets I consumed during the party!

Even classics like Double Lollies and Love Hearts have been given a makeover and I really like the idea of being able to pick up a pack of drumsticks that taste of my childhood but don’t leave my teeth welded together! You can now pick up bags of all these favourites in soft form and I have to admit they were just as addictive as I remember. They are perfect for party bags and the big bags make great ‘pass the parcel present fillers – as we found out on Saturday.
It wasn’t just Arthur overwhelmed by all the goodies on offer. My hands kept wandering back to the bowls too and I remember dancing rather frantically to some 80s classics so I was definitely caught up in the moment. While we all left on a scrumptious sugar high it is worth noting there are no artificial colours in the modern versions.

Squashies

Squashies

 

We had a wander round the museum afterwards. Or to be fair, the children raced round the museum as we tried to outwit the sugar high. What an amazing place. Arthur was fascinated by all the trains and cars through the years and I loved the music pods in the 70s and 80s displays – can’t beat a bit of Michael Jackson. As you can see my sister-in-law and I know how to throw a few shapes on the dance floor!

Throwing some shapes

Throwing some shapes

You can buy the new range of ‘Squashies’ in lots of places on the high street including Asda, Sainsburys, Co-op, B&M, Wilkinsons, Home Bargains, Pound Stretcher and Toys R Us. The ‘Squashies even have their own FREE app which can be downloaded. The little ‘Squashies’ characters have got mixed up in a storm and you need to help them match up again. The first ten levels are completely free and then if you want to unlock all 80 levels it will cost just 69p! This is one for the whole family as even the tiny tots love it, it’s great fun! For more information about the new ‘Squashies’ range, the app and more stockists details please see their website(LINK) and while you’re there you could enter a competition to win 52 bags!!

One thought on “A sweet little wander down memory lane

  1. Oh that looks like so much fun! I was desperate to go too but it was just too far away!
    Looks like you had great fun!
    xxx

Leave a Reply

