Google+

Snow, stories and linguistics

3

January 31, 2013 by workitmamma

This week’s been a busy one with the boy and me ploughing through snow, scaling new heights and taking on the London underground again – if you read this blog you’ll know we’re not the best of friends!

In between snowball fights, magnificent snowmen and frost-bitten fingers we’ve been out and about testing the snow wheels for our Bugaboo Cameleon. I love my Cameleon and have done since we first started using it when Arthur was days old. It’s practical, stylish and just the easiest buggy to manoeuvre around cities and country. But even this buggy struggled in the heavy snow, one evening I had to push Arthur home on two wheels leaving me with a dodgy back and Arthur with a head rush!. We passed loads of buggies and all the mums and dads gave each other knowing looks. Looks that said: “Why the hell did I think bringing a buggy out in the snow was a good idea”.

Cruising with the snow wheels

Cruising with the snow wheels

Entre the Bugaboo snow wheels, unlike my wheels they are air-filled which apparently means they deal better with snowy terrain. All I know is that I glided smugly over the ice and snow leaving lesser buggies in my wake. I got so confident I practically headed for the snow, confident Bugaboo would see me through.
They were very easy to attach and in a few clicks I’d removed the everyday front wheels and replaced with the snow ones. They go on the front of the buggy, replacing the small ones. This does mean manoeuvrability suffers very slightly but when you’re wading through snow the most important thing is stability and feeling confident you will be able to get through without performing some kind of gymnastic move worthy of an Olympic gold.. So a small price to pay in my view.

NATIONAL STORYTELLING WEEK

Arthur’s learning to speak in little sentences which is lovely and definitely scaling new heights but wow is it frustrating. Part of me has also taken to wondering if he’s making up stuff on purpose to mess with my mind – hhmmm.
Now I’m all for freedom of speech but I have to admit when I’ve stood for, what seems like hours, trying to work out what he’s said, I’m more than happy to make it up for myself and hope it’s near enough. Bless him, it is very cute and obviously I’m full of encouragement but come on – it takes a skilled linguist to know that: “mummy cubble feerengeen flees ta” means “mummy can you please cuddle my fire engine. Thanks”.
One of his favourite people in the world is his cousin Florence and he’s just learning to say her name properly. It’s started as ‘Flosmat’ and now sounds like ‘Flence’, so we’re getting there. I’m endlessly fascinated by the speed at which they learn words and phrases – he’s also started reading along when I sit and read one of his favourite books with him. He loves stories and I hope this continues.
A few weeks ago I listened to The Faraway Tree on BBC Radio Four and it reminded me of the power of a good story. Through words alone, a good story, either read or told, graces our lives, creating a whole new world in which to get lost. My mum read the Faraway Tree to me, my grandmother to her, and I’ll read it to Arthur – that’s what I love too. A story that spans decades and remains loved and valid – I hope he continues to enjoy reading and stories throughout his life.
I’ve always loved books, and truly believe you never have to feel alone if you love books. I can remember some difficult times when days stretched out and problems remain unsolved and I would immerse myself in someone else’s life or lives. They’re not only good for the imagination but good for the soul too.
It’s not just the world of fiction and creative writing that uses story-telling, businesses are beginning to understand its power. A message delivered through a story is so much more easily accepted and believed than a suit in front of a microphone telling you something. Stories involve two sides and the reader or listener is as important at the story-teller. Trust is paramount and I think you have to fall a little in love with the story – whether that’s a character, location, moment or a feeling it evokes. I lost my heart to Wuthering Heights many years ago and I’ve had several torrid affairs and one night stands since – but my heart will always belong to Heathcliffe.
http://www.sfs.org.uk/national-storytelling-week

3 thoughts on “Snow, stories and linguistics

  1. I totally agree about books and I love the fact that my own kids love reading as much as I do. Sounds like you’ve been having fun!
    xx

  2. mummytoh says:

    I love stories too. Can’t wait to read faraway tree to my boys!

Leave a Reply

Categories

BritMums

BritMums

