Google+

Reaching new heights with tights

Leave a comment

February 25, 2013 by workitmamma

Despite my outwardly liberal persona I love nothing more than a grubby little wallow on the Daily Mail online site – I’m always particularly taken with the ‘celeb’ stories in the right hand column.
Anyway the secret’s out so I can joyously share with you the most brilliant ‘celeb’ story on there for a while. It appears the lovely, down to earth, just like the rest of us, mother, Gwyneth Paltrow has taken up ariel yoga. Yes, that’s right, basically all the fun of yoga while being hoisted a few feet of the ground.
Now sometimes I can be accused of adding histrionics to my daily mummy/work balance, of, perhaps, embellishing my daily struggles with comedy (of sorts) and a little drama. BUT, never have I thought to myself: “Ok, let’s hang upside down in what can only be described as a large pair of tights.”
It’s the perfect example of celeb mummys having too much time on their hands. According the report hanging in these silk hammocks increases blood flow and stretches the spine. According to me it’s yet more proof that no matter what we do, how hard we work and however many life-enhancing seminars we attend there is always someone somewhere taking it to another level.
On a more serious note it’s frightening to think there is a whole money-making machine playing on our desires to find the answer, the solution. Whether that’s hanging upside down in some tights or spending hundreds of pounds on bespoke party bags for your children’s birthday party.
While they are clearly two very different transactions, they are both born out of a world where, women in particular, face an ever-increasing battle to have it all. We’re reaching new depths (or heights), and part of me can’t help but hope there will be some kind of implosion leaving us…wait for it… happy with our lot. When yoga is just yoga and parties end with some cake and a few stickers.
Anyway, I’m off for another surreptitious read -apparently there’s a new craze in karaoke zumba.

Me and my boy We made the move this week from high chair to booster seat – it was rather seamless. We’ve been using the Munchkin travel booster seat and it’s been fantastic.

Loving my new chair!

Loving my new chair!

It folds away into a bag which means you can take it out and about with enough room for nappies, a drink and wipes so no need to lug another bag around with you.
Arthur can be a bit picky when it comes to where he sits but he sat in his new seat with no problems and it’s genuinely so easy to unfold and attach to the seat. Just a simple strap underneath and another around the chair so not too fiddly when you’re out and about. We used it while out for lunch and it fitted fine in two restaurants, including Pizza Express and another local pub. It also has legs you can use which fold up into the bag so it has two heights. Although there were three of us, it was so easy I feel confident I’d be able to use it on my own when we’re out for lunch.
For such a compact chair it was very sturdy and I feel happy Arthur was safe and not going to wriggle out. All in all a really good buy, great value for money with the added bonus of being a travel version so making life out and about a little easier.

Leave a Reply

Categories

BritMums

BritMums

