Google+

Aldi supermarket convert

3

April 18, 2013 by workitmamma

Aldi logo

At the weekend I went to a press/blogger event hosted by the supermarket Aldi. I want to be honest here and say I have never really shopped there, I may have popped in for the odd thing but I never considered it for a full shop.

I’m really pleased to say this event sowed the seed of my transformation into an Aldi convert! They are working hard to compete with other major supermarkets and I was really impressed with the number of lines they have  -I never knew they had an organic range or that they sold really good quality baby food. They are fast becoming a real alternative rather than somewhere to pop in for a few things.

What I really loved was hearing about their honesty and how the customer really is at the heart of all they do. We were told how Aldi had ‘no frills’ so they could pass on savings to their customers and that this was a major consideration for them as a business. At a time when all our finances are being squeezed to the max this is refreshing and reassuring when you have children to consider. On another note I had no idea they have an organic range too – I learnt a lot.

We also heard from the buyer of the baby ranges – who also happens to be a mother of two small children. It was clear she put the emphasis on quality and her and her team were taking the time to get things right. They were keen to hear our feedback and find out what we wanted from a baby and toddler range. There’s an integrity surrounding the brand that I’d never really thought about before.

We were able to take some products home and I’ve put many of them to the test already.

So what did we think…

Wet wipes – let me say right now these are the best wipes I have ever used. Simple. They are strong, have the proper packaging that doesn’t leave you trying for hours to get one wipe out, a real bugbear of mine!  They have a gentle smell and are neither too wet or too dry. Perfect and for 79p for 80 it’s hard to see why you wouldn’t buy them. I’m definitely swapping over. It’s not just me that thinks it either – they’ve won loads of awards including: the Loved By Parents ‘Best Wipes’, Mother & Baby’s ‘Best Wipes’.

Nappies – Arthur’s been trying out the Aldi Mamia Easy Pants size 5 – considering we went out for lunch and then played outside all afternoon, they lasted amazingly. He might be only two but I did ask them if they were comfortable and he said: ” my bottom feels bootiful mummy’ – a glowing endorsement indeed! The Easy Pants cost just £2.99 for 20 – the Mamia new born ones start at just £1.69 for 24. That’s real value for money.

Aldi Mamia nappies

Great quality – great bargain

Washing tablets and softener- I have a neighbour, Sheila, who at 78, travels across the city to our Aldi to pick up this washing powder. She’s a hardcore washer from an age when sheets sparkled on lines many times a week and she washes everything all the time!

Could she be right? Well I’m two washes in using the Almat non-bio washing tablets and softener and I can see where she’s coming from. Just a great wash, lovely smell and even the pen on Arthur’s jumper came off. everything was beautiful and soft when it dried and I’m so pleased with the outcome. I used a capful of softener so it’s on par when it comes to how long it will last.

Lacura range of face care – this morning I used the Lacura caffeine eye roll-one which is supposed to deliver a hit of moisturiser and ‘pep’ you up a bit for the day.

The Lacura Intensive serum is also pretty amazing for £3.49 – I use it under my moisturiser and it made my skin feel fab.

Lacura face serum

In fact I sound like a broke record but I can genuinely say all of the products have performed brilliantly and saved pounds from my normal shop. I’d just like to see a few more stores appearing so it makes shopping at an Aldi store more of a possibility as that’s the only thing stopping me now. I’ll be road testing some more Aldi products over the next few weeks and bringing you my thoughts. For now though, I would highly recommend a visit.

Super Six

Every fortnight, six different fresh fruit and vegetables are heavily discounted, often to prices as low as 49p or 69p. This means you can get your fruit and veg without breaking the bank.

Coming soon….The Aldi Baby Event

The Aldi Baby Event starts on 30th May. Things like their nappies which start at just £1.69 for a pack of 24 new born ones remain the same price no matter what. Aldi want you to know that if something costs X amount one week then it will still cost X amount next week too – it’s all about the honesty I mentioned earlier. But during the event there will be special purchases that are not normally on offer, such as baby blankets, swim nappies and lots more – take a look, you’ll be impressed.

3 thoughts on “Aldi supermarket convert

  1. Melaina25 says:

    I love “my bottom feels beautiful” lol

  2. We are loving the nappies too, they feel just as good quality as the premium brands which I was really suprised at and seem to be holding well too! x

Leave a Reply

Categories

BritMums

BritMums

