Google+

Dear Arthur…

2

April 22, 2013 by workitmamma

I’ve been in a reflective mood this week. The devastating tragedy of the Boston Marathon and death of eight-year-old Martin Richard led to a collective intake of parental breath across the world. We all have the instinct to hold our babies, big and small, close.

I was also inspired by the ‘ten things I would tell my daughter’ letter trending on Twitter last week. I started to think of all the things I wanted to tell my boy, those little moments of insight. If I had to tell him everything I wanted him to know, everything I wish I’d known – what would those things be.

So here’s my (completely non-exhaustive) list of things I want my boy to know:

Arthur and me by the river

Me, my boy and ever-present Winnie in The Lakes

Arthur dancing at festival

Always dance Arthur – you’ve got moves!

Dear Arthur,

  • Make sure you can laugh at yourself but never laugh at others unless they’re in on the joke  – it’s cruel and that’s not my boy.
  • Dance if you want to, me and daddy love to dance, stupidly, so if you feel it please do it. It’s good for the soul.
  • Read books – lots of them and when you have time please read ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’, it will show you the brilliance of the human condition and the dangers of a closed mind.
  • Remember when you were tiny I held your hand to make you feel safe. Do the same for someone else sometime.
  • Life is short – make sure it’s sweet.
  • Look after your teeth – you’ll regret it if not.
  • I don’t care what you are, whether you work in a supermarket or perform
    Arthur in his hat and pyjamas

    Rocking the work hat/pyjama combination

    open heart surgery on a daily basis. Just be happy doing it. I know far too many miserable people who are ‘successful’ in the eyes of society.

  • Have strength and confidence in you and your abilities – please don’t waste years wondering  if you’re good enough. I’m telling you now that you are.
  • Know that love makes the world go round but the reality is money helps oil the wheels. Doesn’t matter how much you earn but save a little and plan for the future – it lurks around every corner.
  • Strength isn’t just physical.
  • Treat women well, we are all mothers of sons.
  • If you feel bad, angry, low, try not to reflect it in the way you treat others – people can tell and it comes across as insecurity.
  • Be kind – it’s simple but effective.
  • Always know I’ve got your back. Whatever happens, whenever we fall out and during all those times you want to scream at me to keep my nose out, remember that what I say comes from love.
  • What I feel for you is overwhelming so cut me some slack – it can be a bit much some times.
  • Know that when you were born you changed me forever such was your impact. Don’t waste that – do something amazing.

Have my blessing to be the man you want to be not the one you think you should be. Just remember all of the above and you’ll be fine my boy. xx

2 thoughts on “Dear Arthur…

  1. I love this. It made me cry.xxxx

Leave a Reply

Categories

BritMums

BritMums

