Google+

Dust if you must – but if not please jump on trampolines.

1

May 27, 2013 by workitmamma

This weekend I’ve spent loads of time with people I love. It’s a cliché but like most well-trodden clichés there is a truth which sits neatly upon its shoulder.

Sometimes I’m consumed with guilt about a meal from a microwave, a bathroom that hasn’t been cleaned properly for a couple of weeks. Sheets that aren’t ironed and crisp each Sunday evening.

This weekend, my boy and I left our house in a right old pickle. mud covering the garden where we’d enthusiastically planted all our geraniums and strawberry plants in one go. A bathroom littered with toys from baths and toys tumbling from every corner of the sitting room.

We searched out memories and moments on which to dine. Times that will give us so much more than a bleached loo and scrubbed floors. Barbeques at my wonderful parents with my brother and his lovely family. Fantastic fun at the children’s gym, jumping in foam pits and bouncing on trampolines. Sun drenched visits to the farm where Arthur spent hours talking to the lambs and introducing himself.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m all for blasting those germs and I’m not advocating living in a squalid pit in the search for some kind of spiritual awakening. But we all know those times when we’re missing the moment because we’re consumed with something else.

This poem sums it up for me – Dust if you Must…sprinkled with cliché but its simplicity still holds a truth that resonates:

Dust if you must, but wouldn’t it be better
To paint a picture, or write a letter,
Bake a cake, or plant a seed;
Ponder the difference between want and need?

Dust if you must, but there’s not much time,
With rivers to swim, and mountains to climb;
Music to hear, and books to read;
Friends to cherish, and life to lead.

Dust if you must, but the world’s out there
With the sun in your eyes, and the wind in your hair;
A flutter of snow, a shower of rain,
This day will not come around again.

Dust if you must, but bear in mind,
Old age will come and it’s not kind.
And when you go (and go you must)
You, yourself, will make more dust.

(Thank you to whomever wrote this – I’m not sure who you are but it makes me smile)

One thought on “Dust if you must – but if not please jump on trampolines.

  1. Marilynn1982 says:

    Great post. I do agree that it is more important to spend time with those you love than cleaning or tidying. After all, I don’t think that when all is said and done I would look back with regret on that one time I didn’t bleach the toilet! That said, I have a bit of a thing about tidying/cleaning (may be OCD but don’t know for sure). So where I can, I find the time to tidy ( I have a bit of a routine) but not at the expense of time with the little one! I find I can’t really function properly in mess or dirt. For me a tidy house equals a tidy mind. I do wish it was different though! I hope it doesn’t rub off on the little one, but perhaps she will end up with very good organisational skills as a result?

Leave a Reply

